Welcome to Consumer Reports Advocacy

For 85 years CR has worked for laws and policies that put consumers first. Learn more about CR’s work with policymakers, companies, and consumers to help build a fair and just marketplace at TrustCR.org

New Hampshire-Rate Review Law

If you buy health insurance on the individual market, without help from an employer, you may want to know what New Hampshire is doing to protect you from unfair and unnecessary premium rate increases.  Here’s a summary of the New Hampshire laws that govern rate increases.  Caution: the laws and regulations on the books don’t always reflect what actually happens in practice.  Contact your state’s insurance agency for further information.

  • New Hampshire does require prior approval of individual market rates. NHRSA § 415:1, 415:24.
  • Rates are deemed approved if they are not disapproved with 30 days. NHRSA § 415:1, 415:2.
  • Rates may be disapproved if benefits provided are unreasonable in relation to the premium charged. NHRSA § 415:2. Benefits are considered reasonable in relation to premiums so long as the insurer meets a medical loss ratio requirement. NHRSA § 415:24.
  • For nonprofit insurers, the state insurance commissioner may refuse approval of rates if they are found to be excessive, inadequate or discriminatory. NHRSA § 420-A:8
  • Rate filings are not posted online, but available by request at the New Hampshire Insurance Department.

Information is based on review of state statutes and regulations and, in some cases, interviews or emails with state insurance departments.